The Vision Portal for teachers allows for users to customize their experience. Let’s take a look at all of the features currently available, including custom settings, class timers, and web filters.
The Vision Portal can be accessed via the application by selecting more settings in the dropdown menu. Alternatively, you can navigate directly to the portal via your browser by visiting vision.netop.com teachers log in with the same credentials they use for logging into the application.
Currently, there are two menu options on the lefthand side: teacher settings and filter web list. If you are a Google administrator, you might also see the tab “admin reports” Let’s look first at the custom settings for class behavior. These include options for starting and stopping class, as well as a choice in the visual theme that is applied to the student. Before making any changes, here’s what a default login experience looks like with no custom settings. When the teacher selects their Google classroom, the student icons are listed, but show as offline. That’s because the teacher has to click “start” in order to initiate that connection.
Now let’s apply some custom settings and see their impact. I’m going to select automatically start class after opening them. I’m also going to set a timer to end class. I am selecting 1 hour, so the class will automatically end one hour. After I started class, teachers have the option for different visual themes, which impact the student experience. “Cute” is our classic theme with our Netop monsters and may be more appropriate for younger students. Secondary teachers may feel that the “Stylish” theme is more mature and appropriate.
Moving into the next section, we have options for how the teacher monitors the students. As is noted, the Chromebook main screen view allows the teacher to monitor the entire device. This means you can see all Chromebook activity with the direct screen-share. Active Chrome tab is another option. The benefit here is that students do not have to accept the share screen notification, making their experience completely passive. The drawback is that you are limited to only seeing the active tab in the Chrome browser. All other features of Vision still function the same. To apply these features you need to sign back into the application.
Now, when I opened that same class, you will notice two things. The start button is automatically applied and it’s now a stop button. As soon as I select my Google classroom, Vision starts. Second, there is a notification with the exact time class will stop in this case one hour after I started it. You can override this from within the application by clicking, do not stop. Next, I’m going to use the draw attention feature to show you our stylish theme. As you can see, it is a bit more mature and academic in tone.
Now let’s flash forward and class is almost over. As you can see, the teacher receives a notification five minutes prior to class ending. The teacher can postpone from within the application and extend the class 10 extra minutes. If they ignore this notification class will end on its own. In addition to the teacher’s settings, the Vision Portal is also where teachers can build their own filter lists and save them for future lessons. Here are my safe lists and to make a new one, I simply click the plus sign and then give my filter a name
Links can be added by typing in the URL and clicking enter. The link is added to this list it is saved automatically. If you want students to be limited to a specific page within the website, you can also enter the long form of the URL, simply copy and paste it and click enter.
From this screen, you can turn on the filter so that it will be enabled. And once you return to the application and click filter web, it will apply to the student’s browsing session. This filter is also saved to our master list here in the portal and seeing immediately over to the application so that it is available to use. We can see this custom filter is available in our configure filter web list, and already enabled. Once I hit filter web within the application, it will apply to the student’s browsing experience. The students have two clickable links they can access for their lesson. If you want to apply multiple filters, just enable them from your configure filter web option, and they will be added to the list of clickable links for students.
Lastly, returning to the Portal, I want to show you how easy it is to manage and share these lists. If you want to delete a list, simply click the trashcan and it will be deleted from your portal and from the application. If you are collaborating with other teachers and sharing unit plans, that filter lists are a great addition to any of your resources. Lists can be uploaded from a CSV or plain text document. To share your list, just download the links, which will save in a downloads folder. You can then email this to a colleague or add it to a shared. It can then be retrieved and imported, and that list will be available for the teacher to use.
Thank you for your time and enjoy the power of Vision for managing your classroom technology routines.